Top Seven Looks From The Red Carpet of The 2017 Grammy Awards

Ask anyone who knows me and they’ll tell you that I’m always either listening to music or taking words that I hear in conversation and singing songs that relate to them. And when I’m not doing one of those two things, I can guarantee you that there are about at least five of my favorite songs rolling around in my head. So any venue that celebrates music is one that I enjoy. Plus, when it comes to award shows, the performances are, in my opinion, always the best part. The Grammy’s are pretty much all performances, so needless to say, they’re my favorite.

I also love the Grammy’s because of the Grammy fashion of course! I don’t know if it’s because the attendees of the Grammy’s are a really creative bunch of people, or if the red carpet for this award show has a less overly-sophisticated vibe than some of the other award shows (it just feels different than, say, The Oscars, right?) but the fashion on the Grammy red carpet is always a little more daring and a little more interesting. So I always look forward to seeing what everyone turns up in. This year though, I’ve got to say, I wasn’t really impressed with what I saw. I mean, nobody really looked terrible, but there weren’t many looks that really stood out (in a good way) as some have in the past (see: Rihanna in 2015, Lady Gaga or Florence Welch in 2016) That being said, I did manage, she says sarcastically, to pick out seven favorite looks from this year’s Grammy red carpet.

Charli XCX in Vivienne Westwood

Charli is just soo cool. And you can’t see them in this picture but her earrings are SO GOOD. The perfect mix of punk and elegance. Her glam is also perfect.

sub-buzz-17539-1486947397-6

Photo: Frazer Harrison / Getty Images

Mya in Styland

Okay, I love a good pantsuit at an award show, and this combination of the silky material and the jewel tone color is everything. (And she kinda reminds me of my aunt in this picture so I feel like I have a familial responsibility to recognize her in this post)

sub-buzz-7945-1486937236-1

Photo: Frazer Harrison / Getty Images

Laverne Cox in Bryan Hearns

Okay chains. Come through BODY. Hi eye makeup. Yes yes yes.

sub-buzz-4195-1486947588-7

Photo: Frazer Harrison / Getty Images

Halsey in Christian Wijnants

See above comment on pantsuits. I also love the 90s RnB vibe (hi “Creep” by TLC) that this look is channeling. These floor length pants are so cool and I love the bare skin moment she has going on.

sub-buzz-11569-1486945215-3

Photo: Alberto E. Rodriguez / Getty Images

Heidi Klum in Philip Plein

How is she 43 and still looking like this in the actual shortest dress ever? Also, her legs are perfect and I want those giant hoop earrings (shoes are ugly though, can’t let her slide on that one).

sub-buzz-4146-1486947748-6

Photo: Alberto E. Rodriguez / Getty Images

Demi Lovato in Julien MacDonald

Bronzed Mermaid Goddess. Demi will always have a special place in my heart and sometimes she looks less than 100 but today she gave us a look and I am glad.

sub-buzz-18173-1486946451-1

Photo: Frazer Harrison / Getty Images

Solange Knowles in Gucci

Solange came through with this gold pleated dress and I was like finally, fashion is here. Thank God we have Solange, who is always doing something interesting and beautiful, and the Knowles blood to save us all. (Plus, the shoes!)

sub-buzz-4668-1486948477-5

Photo: Alberto E. Rodriguez / Getty Images

Honorable Mention: Blue Ivy Carter in Gucci

You better stunt on them Blue, in your powder pink suit and your Beyoncé braid, and your fox purse. Honestly, this little girl was dressed cooler than most of the people there. Such a shame she had to sit in the audience and witness her mother get robbed on so many occasions.

Photo: Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for NARAS

2 thoughts on “Top Seven Looks From The Red Carpet of The 2017 Grammy Awards

Leave a Reply

