We Told You This Was Melodrama: Ranking Lorde’s Newest Album

Instead of my usual monthly playlist, this blog post is all about one single album: Melodrama by Lorde. Because honestly, this album is all you need to listen to for a while. I’ve referred to myself as a walking, talking Lorde fan club before, so I could pretty much just talk about her music forever. And after waiting FOUR YEARS for a new album, June definitely belonged to Lorde and Melodrama. But rather than giving a plain old review of the album, I decided to rank all the songs on the album from my least to most favorite.

11. Supercut

Honestly, I really like this song. Supercut being my “least favorite” song does not mean that it’s a bad song. . .just that I liked all the other ones a little bit better. But hey, one of them had to be last, right? My only real reasoning for this song being number eleven is that she says “supercut” too much but that’s just me nitpicking for something. I absolutely love the concept of this song, that moment when she sings without the music, and when that deep, 80s baseline kicks in on the last chorus.

Favorite lyric(s): We were wild and fluorescent, come home to my heart / In my head I do everything right

10. Homemade Dynamite

I love the melody of the verses and Lorde’s breathiness during the choruses and when she says “I guess we’re partying.” This song is cool and upbeat and it lands at number ten pretty much for the same reason that Supercut ended up in last place.

Favorite lyric(s): We’ll end up painted on the road, red and chrome, all the broken glass sparkling

9. Sober

Honestly Lorde, what will we do when we’re sober? Like so many songs on this album, Lorde and Co. really produced the shit out of this song. So many little elements combine to make such a deep, brooding, light-hearted anthem of a song. And that intro!

Favorite lyric(s): Jack and Jill get fucked up and possessive when it get dark

8. Perfect Places

This is such a quintessential Lorde song. It sounds like a favorite high school movie that you always wished was really your life. If you like Tongue Tied by Grouplove then you’ll probably love this one too. But this song it totally like that song’s way waaaay cooler older sister that’s been through some stuff.

Favorite lyric(s): I’m 19 and I’m on fire, but when we’re dancing I’m alright

7. The Louvre

This song is a really inventive pop song to me. It’s got this really almost classic rock sounding baseline that shines during the verses and then that’s overlaid with super cool alt-pop melodies and production. The chorus is so nostalgic and Pure Heroin and feels so warm in an otherwise really fresh feeling album. Plus, Lorde’s cadence in this song, especially when she drifts into her speaking voice, is really endearing.

Favorite lyric(s): While summer slipped us underneath her tongue / Blow all my friendships to sit in hell with you. But we’re the greatest, they’ll hang us in the Louvre. Down the back, but who cares – still the Louvre

6. Hard Feelings/Loveless

So much of Hard Feelings speaks to me, like this may be a love song but it really captures what it feels like to have to confront change. It’s grand and timid at the same time, and when she says she’s sick of the endless summer afternoons (which to me is a call out to the content of her last album) man, that really hits me.

Favorite lyric(s): I care for myself the way I used to care about you / When you’ve outgrown a lover the whole world seems to know but you

This song and The Louvre were pretty much tied for sixth place, but because of Loveless this song(s) edged out The Louvre just barely. In fact, my only complaint about this song is that Loveless isn’t longer! Because Loveless is A BOB! The lyrics, melody, everything about Loveless is a literal dream.

Favorite lyric(s): Bet you wanna rip my heart out, bet you wanna skip my calls now. Well guess what? I like that ’cause I’m gonna mess your life up, gonna wanna tape my mouth shut

5. Writer In The Dark

This song is so stunningly produced. The combination of the piano and the harmonies in the chorus. . .and then when the strings come in later on in the song. . . UGH so beautiful. Sometimes I feel like it’s a little bit cliche to talk about vulnerability in a song but HONESTLY you can hear the vulnerability in Lorde’s voice when she sings this. It’s really a song that you have to just listen to and sit with for a minute because THE LYRICS are legit pure art.  This song reads like a page ripped out from any creative’s diary. If you know, you know.

Favorite lyric(s): When you see me, will you say I’ve changed?

(Okay so here’s the deal, my favorite lyric is one I found to be particularly poignant but really the whole song could be my favorite lyric. This song really gets me.)

4. Liability (Reprise)

This song. . .THIS SONG! This song is a vibe. I don’t know what else to say. The songwriting on this album is really exceptional, I really feel like Lorde is either speaking to me, reading me, or giving me the tea in a lot of these songs. In this song, it’s a combination of all three and it’s really striking and kinda shakes me heart up a little bit. Again, really cool things happening with production here and I just LOVE whenever Lorde layers her vocals, there’s something so haunting and beautiful and really really interesting about it.

Favorite lyric(s): But you’re not what you thought you were / Maybe all this is the party, maybe we just do it violently

3. Sober II (Melodrama)

Sober II is probably one of the only examples of a sequel being better than the original. If you’re a Lana Del Rey fan you’ll probably be into this song because it has major old hollywood, grand room at a big party full of rich people vibes. I love her little “oh whoa”‘s throughout the song, and when that hip-hop reminiscent base kicks in ahhhhhh, it’s everything. This song bangs and sways at the same time, it’s really really cool. And, of course, it’s the album’s namesake.

Favorite lyric(s): We told you this was melodrama

2. Greet Light

Usually, the singles are my least favorite songs on an album but that was not the case for Melodrama. Let me tell you, this song is rejuvenating. I’ll say that until I’ve ran it into the ground, this song is rejuvenating. It perfectly captures the feeling of being somewhere in-between and I swear to you nothing feels better than hearing this song in the club.

My favorite lyric(s): I whisper things, the city sings them back to you / Oh, I wish I could get my things and just let go

1. Liability

I just can not get over this song! Every time I listen to it I feel some type of way. It’s gotta be one of my favorite pieces of songwriting EVER, absolutely perfect in its simultaneous depth and simplicity. I don’t know if it’s because they were the first song we got from the album, and they were the first balms to soothe the wound what had been growing inside me for FOUR YEARS (we told you this was melodrama 😋) but these songs really mean a lot to me. I have an emotional attachment to them, and there was no way that they weren’t going to be my top two pics.

My favorite lyric(s): She’s so hard to please but she’s a forrest fire

I also just wanted to take a second to admire the aesthetic of this album. I mean, this dark neon vibe it kind of everything. It perfectly captures the vibe of the album (and I think that picture with the balloons is just one of my favorite images to ever exist).

But anyway, I wanna know what you guys think about my list and about the album in general! Have you listened to Melodrama yet? What are your favorite songs from it?

 

2 thoughts on “We Told You This Was Melodrama: Ranking Lorde’s Newest Album

Leave a Reply

